Alexej Gerassimez, Percussionist & Composer

As a musician, percussionist Alexej Gerassimez, born in 1987 in Essen, Germany, is as multi-faceted as the instruments he works with. His repertoire ranges from classical to contemporary and jazz to minimal music and in addition he expands his scope of talents with his own compositions.

In January 2017 Alexej Gerassimez took part in a Sasha Waltz choreographic and musical production commemorating the opening ceremonies of the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg. During the season 2017-2018 Alexej Gerassimez will return to the Elbphilharmonie twice: The first concert is part of a tour with the NDR Radiophilharmonie under the direction of Tan Dun with Tan Duns percussion concerto “Tears of Nature” and the second is a chamber music program around Bartóks Sonata for two pianos and two percussionists. Next season he will also appear in Munich (Herkulessaal and Prinzregententheater), in Düsseldorf (Tonhalle) as well as in the Cologne and Essen Philharmonies.

Alexej Gerassimez performs as a guest soloist with internationally renowned orchestras including those of the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the SWR Radio Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart and the Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin under the direction of conductors such as Gerd Albrecht, Elim Chan, Kristjan Järvi, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Daniel Meier and Michel Tabachnik. Concerts have taken him to China, South Korea, USA, Switzerland and the Netherlands.

In addition, Alexej Gerassimez creates solo programmes, participates as an enthusiastic chamber musician in a vast variety of ensembles and gives performances with his own Percussion Group at music festivals such as the Heidelberger Frühling, the Schleswig Holstein Musik Festival and the Beethovenfest Bonn. As artist-in-residence at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in summer 2017 he was able to demonstrate the wide scope of his instruments in over 20 different concerts.

His artistic curiosity and the pleasure he takes in crossing boundaries are reflected in his desire to reach an audience that is as heterogeneous as possible and introduce it to the entire spectrum of percussion instruments. In keeping with this objective, Alexej Gerassimez integrates objects from contexts not generally associated with music, such as brake discs, barrels or marine propellers with the usual percussion and melody instruments.

The percussionist derives his inspiration from the sounds and rhythms of everyday life. He combines a variety of music styles with traditional and newly discovered timbres and thus provides very direct listening experiences for his audience. His own compositions are characterised by the exploration of rhythmic and acoustic possibilities as well as the creation of highly original sounds. His first CD, which was released in 2012 by GENUIN includes some of his own compositions and was received with enthusiasm by the press.

Alexej Gerassimez, now residing in Berlin, has been the recipient of awards including the second prize in the ARD Music Competition in September 2014, the first prize in the German music competition of the Deutscher Musikrat [German Music Council] and the first prize as well as the Audience Award, the Press Award and Special Prize in the TROMP Percussion Competition in 2010.

Alexej Gerassimez completed his education as a student with Christian Roderburg and Stefan Hüge at such universities or conservatories of music and art as the Hochschule für Musik in Cologne, the Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” and with Peter Sadlo at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich. Meanwhile he is actively engaged as a guest lecturer at the Mozarteum Salzburg and the Birmingham Conservatoire.

He holds scholarships from various foundations such as the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben and the PE Foundation for Talented Musicians. He was also supported by the Degussa-Stiftung, the Jürgen Ponto Stiftung, the Jütting Stiftung, the GenRe Stiftung, the Orlandus Lassus Stiftung and the Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung. In September 2016 he was awarded the Musik Prize of the Association of German Concert Promoters.

Alexej Gerassimez, Percussionist & Komponist

Der 1987 in Essen geborene Percussionist Alexej Gerassimez ist als Musiker so vielseitig wie sein Instrumentarium. Sein Repertoire reicht von Klassik und Neuer Musik über Jazz bis zu Minimal Music, und erweitert sich zusätzlich durch eigene Kompositionen.

Im Januar 2017 hat Alexej Gerassimez im Rahmen der Eröffnungsfeierlichkeiten der Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg an Sasha Waltz‘ choreografischer und musikalischer Raumerkundung mitgewirkt. Während der Saison 2017-2018 kehrt er für zwei Konzerte in die Elbphilharmonie zurück: Das erste Konzert ist Teil einer Deutschland-Tournee mit der NDR Radiophilharmonie mit Tan Duns Konzert „Tears of Nature“ unter der Leitung des Komponisten, das zweite ein Kammermusik-Programm rund um Bartóks Sonate für 2 Schlagzeuger und 2 Pianisten. Weitere Highlights der neuen Saison sind Konzerte in München (Herkulessaal und Prinzregententheater), in Düsseldorf (Tonhalle) und in den Essener und Kölner Philharmonien.

Als Solist ist Alexej Gerassimez Gast international renommierter Orchester (u.a. NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover, Münchner Philharmoniker, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR, Rundfunksinfonieorchester Berlin) unter der Leitung von Dirigenten wie Gerd Albrecht, Elim Chan, Kristjan Järvi, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Daniel Meier und Michel Tabachnik. Konzerte führten ihn bereits nach China, Südkorea, die USA, die Schweiz und die Niederlande.

Daneben gestaltet Alexej Gerassimez Solo-Programme, ist ein begeisterter Kammermusiker und tritt mit seiner eigenen Percussion Group auf bei Festivals wie dem Heidelberger Frühling, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival und dem Bonner Beethovenfest. Als Artist in Residence hat er im Sommer 2017 bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern seine Instrumente in all ihren Facetten in über 20 unterschiedlichen Konzerten vorgestellt.

Seiner künstlerischen Neugier und Freude an Grenzüberschreitungen entspricht der Wunsch, sich ein möglichst heterogenes Publikum zu erschließen und diesem die gesamte Bandbreite des Instrumentariums nahezubringen. Dementsprechend integriert Alexej Gerassimez neben den üblichen Schlag- und Melodieinstrumenten auch Objekte aus eigentlich musikfernen Kontexten, wie Bremsscheiben, Fässer oder Schiffsschrauben.

Seine Inspiration bezieht der Schlagzeuger aus den Klängen und Rhythmen des Alltags. Er vereint unterschiedliche Musikstile mit tradierten und neu gefundenen Klangfarben, die dem Publikum sehr unmittelbare Hörerlebnisse bescheren. Seine eigenen Kompositionen sind gekennzeichnet durch die Auslotung rhythmischer und klanglicher Möglichkeiten, als auch die Kreation eigenwilliger Sounds. Seine 2012 bei GENUIN erschienene erste CD, die auch eigene Werke beinhaltet, wurde von der Presse begeistert aufgenommen.

Der in Berlin ansässige Alexej Gerassimez kann auf eine bemerkenswerte Anzahl an Wettbewerbserfolgen zurückblicken. Zu den renommiertesten zählen der zweite Preis des ARD-Musikwettbewerb im September 2014, der erste Preis beim Deutschen Musikrat-Wettbewerb als auch der erste Preis sowie Publikums-, Presse- und Sonderpreis bei der „TROMP Percussion Competition“ im Jahr 2010.

Sein Studium absolvierte Alexej Gerassimez bei Christian Roderburg und Stefan Hüge an der Hochschule für Musik in Köln, an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ und bei Peter Sadlo an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München. Er selber ist inzwischen als Gastdozent am Mozarteum Salzburg und am Birmingham Conservatoire tätig.

Er ist Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben und des PE-Förderkreises. Weitere Förderung erhielt er von der Degussa-Stiftung, der Jürgen Ponto Stiftung, der Jütting Stiftung, der GenRe Stiftung, der Orlandus Lassus Stiftung und der Dr. Carl Dörken Stiftung. Im September 2016 wurde ihm der Musikpreis des Verbands der Deutschen Konzertdirektionen verliehen.